Home > News > All News

All News

News Feed

Career Center report shows computer scientists highly sought after, best compensated

Karem Sakallah Named ACM Fellow

Hackers brighten Beyster Building with a puzzle of programmable lights

Benjamin Kuipers Named AAAS Fellow

Igor Markov Elected Fellow of the IEEE

Kevin Fu testifies on the security of smart cards to access Medicare and Medicaid Services

2012 CSE Graduate Student Honors Competition Highlights Exceptional Research

Prabal Dutta receives Intel Early Career Faculty Honor Program Award

Computer scientists author book on physical synthesis optimization

Computer scientists author book on Reducing Uncertainty in Logic Circuit Design

Chih-Chun Chia Selected as First Beyster Computational Innovation Graduate Fellow

Edwin Olson named to Popular Science’s “Brilliant 10” list for 2012

Todd Austin Receives A. Richard Newton GSRC Industrial Impact Award for 2012

Jason Flinn Authors Book on Mobile and Pervasive Computing

CSE grad students win best student paper at OSDI 12 symposium

Their paper addresses the challenge of troubleshooting the performance of production software.

Two CSE faculty help make the Ibn Sina School for computer science a reality

2012 ICCAD Ten Year Retrospective Most Influential Paper Award to Prof. Blaauw, Prof. Mudge, and EECS alumni Dr. Martin and Dr. Flautner

The research addressed voltage scaling of processors at the point where, at very low voltages, voltage leakage begins to dominate the computational power consumption.

Researchers win Best Paper Award at IEEE Healthcare Informatics and Systems Biology Conference

Michael Bailey receives Research Faculty Recognition Award from OVPR

His research is focused on the security and availability of complex distributed systems.

Hacker teams from Michigan win recognitions at PennApps Hackathon

Congratulations to the two student teams!

Students compete to create game-playing bots in weekend programming contest

Computer scientists win Best Paper Award at 21st USENIX Security Symposium

Halderman’s “Securing Digital Democracy” opens on Coursera

Todd Austin and colleague author new edition of book on structured computer organization

New student group supports experimentation with technology

Computer scientists named runners up for PET Award

Duo of CSE Alums Form and Grow Security Company in Ann Arbor

Serial entrepreneur Dug Song (CS BS 1997) and recent alum Jon Oberheide (CSE PhD 2011) founded security firm Duo Security in early 2010 and have rapidly grown their company to serve over 500 customers in 40+ countries around the world.

Faculty Help Build Program, Relationship With Addis Ababa Institute of Technology in Ethiopia

Dragomir Radev Coaches High School Linguists to Multiple Wins in International Competition

The 10th International Linguistics Olympiad (IOL) was held in Ljubljana, Slovenia from July 29th to August 4th, 2012.

CSE alums launch Ann Arbor-based cloud data company

High school students explore the intersection of music and computer science at summer camp

CSE Grad Student Wins Best Student Paper at Web Science Conference

Computer Scientists Win Best Paper Award at Turing Centenary Conference

Kevin Fu and Grant Schoenebeck Join the Faculty of CSE @ Michigan

Researchers demonstrate firewall vulnerability in cell network

Prof. Elliot Soloway Selected for AECT Distinguished Development Award

Two CSE Grad Students Receive Rackham Centennial Spring/Summer Fellowship Awards

Michael Wellman Selected for IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award for 2012

Computer Science Alum Stephanie Forrest Selected for ACM Newell Award

J. Alex Halderman to Teach Course on Electronic and Internet Voting through Coursera

The 5-week course will provide the technical background and public policy foundation that today’s citizens need to understand the electronic voting debate.

Third Annual Data Mining Workshop Brings Together 100+ Researchers

100+ researchers from across the University of Michigan and from industry gathered on North Campus for the third U-M Workshop on Data Mining.

Mark Brehob voted HKN Professor of the Year

Dr. Brehob was chosen for the award because of his deep engagement with and commitment to his students and their success.

John Laird Authors Book on Soar Cognitive Architecture

Professor John E. Laird, the John L. Tishman Professor of Engineering in the EECS Department, has authored a new book entitled “The Soar Cognitive Architecture,” which has been published by MIT Press.

Nate Derbinsky Wins Best Poster Award at ICCM

Ph.D. candidate Nate Derbinsky has won the Best Poster Award at the 11th International Conference on Cognitive Modeling (ICCM), which took place April 13 – 15 in Berlin, Germany.

Computer Scientists Win Best Paper Award at ISPASS-2012

U-M computer science researchers David Meisner, Junjie Wu, and Professor Thomas F. Wenisch have won the Best Paper Award at the 2012 IEEE International Symposium on Performance Analysis of Systems and Software (ISPASS-2012), which took place April 1-3, 2012 in New Brunswick, NJ.

Dedication Ceremony Held for Bob and Betty Beyster Building

The College of Engineering held a dedication ceremony for the naming of the Bob and Betty Beyster Building, which is the home of the Computer Science and Engineering Division. The building has been named in recognition of a $15 million gift to the College of Engineering.

The Bob and Betty Beyster Building is dedicated

The Bob and Betty Beyster Building spans four levels and provides 60,000 square feet of offices, research labs, instructional space and common space.

Prof. Emeritus John Meyer Selected for 2012 Jean-Claude Laprie Award

Computer Scientists Win Best Paper Award at HPCA

CSE research is highlighted at Michigan Robotics Day

Samuel DeBruin Awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

CS Students form Mobile App Development Company

Maya Spivak Awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Satish Narayanasamy Receives NSF CAREER Award for work in Simplifying Parallel Programming

Students Show Off Mobile Apps at 2012 iOS Showcase

Jason Clemons Receives NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship

Student projects lab provides training, expertise on embedded systems topics

Prof. Edmund H. Durfee to Receive Alumni Award from University of Massachusetts

Prof. Elliot Soloway to Receive Alumni Award from University of Massachusetts

Prof. H.V. Jagadish Re-Elected to CRA Board of Directors

Security researchers publish details of online voting hack

“Computational Sprinting” pushes smartphones till they’re tired

Hackers install bubbler as a salute to Beysters

Prof. J. Alex Halderman featured in PBS story on the security of internet voting

Security researchers describe newly discovered vulnerabilities in public key encryption

Max Seiden selected for KPCB Engineering Fellowship

Max will be employed by KPCB portfolio company One Kings Lane, where he will develop his technical skills and be mentored by an engineering executive.

Energy-recycling computer technology from U-M goes global

Chris McMeeking Wins Funding for ASK Interfaces through Intel Innovators Competition

Four EECS Faculty recognized with College of Engineering Awards

Congratulations to these outstanding faculty members!

Dongyoon Lee Selected for VMWare Graduate Fellowship

CSE Alum Jon Oberheide Named One of Forbes’ 30 Under 30 in Technology

Igor Markov Receives the A. Richard Newton GSRC Industrial Impact Award for 2011

ENG100 students design, develop, and show games designed for individuals with autism

2012 EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards

Congratulations to these amazing faculty members!