2014 EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards

These faculty are recognized for their unique contributions during the past year.

The EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented annually to faculty members for their outstanding accomplishments in teaching, research, and service.

The recipients of the 2014 EECS Outstanding Achievement Award are:

Mary Lou Dorf Enlarge
Mary Lou Dorf


Mary Lou Dorf

For providing a rigorous and welcoming introduction to computer science for thousands of students, and for working tirelessly to create a sustainable foundation for undergraduate advising in Computer Science and Engineering.



Clay Scott Enlarge
Clay Scott

Clayton Scott
Associate Professor

For fundamental contributions to statistical machine learning theory, particularly in robust anomaly detection and transfer learning, and for important contributions to methodology for numerous applications of machine learning with collaborators in engineering and medicine.





herbert winful Enlarge
Prof. Herbert Winful

Herbert Winful

For contributions to advanced nonlinear optics research, especially tunneling dynamics, nonlinear propagation in periodic media, single-cycle pulses, and fast and slow light, and in recognition of contributions to educational initiatives in Liberia and Ghana, and dedication to student learning and advising.





Clayton Scott; Herbert Winful; Honors and Awards; Mary Lou Dorf